Be very wary of diet advice even if it comes via seemingly very good sources…

I am still managing to successfully avoid sugars as per the fit24 recommendations. I’ve had one “treat” day. My digestive system seems to have settled and I’m not getting as many headaches. However a reliable measurable weight loss is still non-existent. This may be due to a failure of equipment. I got on the scales for my weekly weigh in and discovered a 3 kg difference in my weight depending on whether the scales were pointing north, east, south or west! So my old scales have been retired and a new set is hired. However it does mean I don’t have much faith in the measurement although I do seem to have lost weight. The weight measurement on the old scales, if placed the same position and direction as last week’s measurement, indicate a two kilo loss.

I have been pondering one of the main ideas or evidence used as a guide for the fit24 diet. We are told to eat full fat products instead of low fat because the help us to feel more satisfied and less hungry, also that low fat products generally contain higher sugar levels.

Eating fat on the other hand is very satisfying and makes you feel full a lot quicker and for longer than eating sugar. Not only does fat taste good, we need it for proper vitamin absorption, metabolic functioning and hormone production. So don’t be afraid of fat.

But isn’t fat bad for my heart?

We’ve been brainwashed in to thinking that when we eat saturated fat, it goes straight into our bloodstream, instantly bonding to the inside of our arteries, eventually clogging them up completely. This is not the case. The link between saturated fat intake and coronary heart disease is a myth. It’s OK and a good idea to eat plenty of good sources of fat (butter, olive oil, coconut oil, avocado, nuts, seeds, etc), so long as your sugar intake is low. (Fit24 website, page may only be accessible to participants)

However, I haven’t noticed much of difference in how satisfied I feel with meals and when I start to feel hungry again. So I’m sceptical at the premise that fat makes us feel sated faster and I have numerous questions. How is satiation defined and measured? What is the general scientific consensus on what foods make us more sated given similar kilojoule intake? Turns out it’s quite complex! I’ve also very quickly found information on the web that directly contradicts the advice above.

“Satiating power”

Some foods can more easily contribute to the feeling of fullness (satiety) than others, and this is referred to as their “satiating power”. The calorie-counting tables, used widely by slimmers and the weight conscious, do not necessarily reflect this satiating power and studies examining the effects of foods on “feelings of fullness” can be helpful. In one study of 38 common foods, both men and women subjects consumed foods with equal calorie contents and their feelings of fullness were recorded every 15 minutes for 2 hours. Highest satiating power was found with high levels of protein, dietary fibre and water and low satiating power was related to higher fat foods. Fruit and vegetables-especially boiled potatoes-proved to have high satiating values, whereas bakery products like cakes, croissants and biscuits were the least satiating foods. Protein-rich foods (fish, meat, baked beans, lentils and eggs) and carbohydrate-rich foods (pasta, rice, wholegrain breads and cereals) were among the most satiating foods. (European Food Information Council)

Neither of these websites cite the scientific studies for this advice. I’m immediately disappointed because that was one thing I loved about Weight Watchers – they provided links to much of the scientific research that underpins their programme and advice.

I also found a whole book dedicated to satiation published in 2013 which also has zombies in it. It’s way more than I want to read right now but I did find a bit more on nutrient types and satiety…

Experimental studies have revealed that macronutrients exert different ‘satiating potencies’: the satiety effect of proteins is often said to be greater than that of carbohydrates, which in turn is higher than the potency of dietary fat. Other influences, such as the physical state (liquid or solid) of energy sources, have been suggested as factors in the intensity and duration of satiety responses, as well as characteristics of individual consumers such as body-weight status, affective or cognitive traits, and genetic predispositions. (Satiation, Satiety and the Control of Food Intake: Theory and Practice)

This coupled with my personal observations means I’m still sceptical about the fit24 claims around fat. I’m happy to maintain the sugar moratorium but I’m still going to be very careful about the amount of fat I consume. I’ll be aiming to use fibre, protein and eating with less haste as a path to satisfaction rather than fat.

Also a practical tip: I’ve found having a supply of low sugar and relatively low fat vegetable based dips and hummus really valuable for snacking in the absence of muesli bars and dried fruit. They are a great way of adding bit of a zing and variety to carrot, celery, capsicum, cucumber sticks and wholegrain crackers. I made this one from scratch based on a recipe from a 1990, Community Aid Abroad Vegetarian Cookbook:

???????????????????????????????

2 medium sized eggplants, 1 tablespoon peanut butter, juice of 1 lime, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, handful of chopped parsley (mix of Italian flat leaf and curly), 1/3 cup cooked chick peas, salt and pepper.

I baked the eggplants whole on baking paper and gave them a light covering of olive oil before popping them in the oven for 30 mins at 180 degrees C. Then I cut the top with the leafy bit off and peeled most of the skin off. I ate some of the peeled skin and scraped and sucked as much flesh off the rest of the peeled skin as I could before putting it in the compost bin. Washed hands. Then I put the eggplant flesh and all the other ingredients in a blender and whizzed till smooth. The dip was good for a couple of days in the fridge – didn’t last long enough to judge its use by beyond that.

                 

Leave a Reply

