Spurred to literary rage by advertising

???????????????????????????????

Right, that does it. Now I’m off on a rant. My husband is rolling his eyes….

I generally tolerate advertising, I do quite a good job of ignoring and evading it. Stuff in my mail goes straight into the recycling or on a rare occasion might get used as mulch, compost or rubbish wrapping. I use the freeview machine to zoom through ads on the tele at high speed. I haven’t minded the sidebar ads on facebook because generally I don’t see them or if I do they are totally inappropriate for me or uninteresting. Today however I took intense dislike to a particular ad right in the middle of my facebook news feed. This is where I want to see what my friends have been up to, it’s where I want to see news or views about issues or brands I’ve signed up to. It was an ad for a weight loss product with some gross, oiled up, lumpy, digitally deranged excuse for a female in a bikini. I can’t even remember what the product was. I may be in my forties and my body is likely past its best before date. But facebook advertisers f off with your f’ing weight loss shit. 1) My BMI is normal 2) my husband thinks I’m sexy 3) I am a scientist and I know all that shit you are advertising DOESN’T work.

So now I’m sensitised! I’ve suddenly started taking notice of the ads in my news feed- and please note advertisers – not in a good way. I will be paying careful attention and specifically doing everything I can to expunge, delete and NOT spend a skerric on any product or service that I haven’t specifically sought or liked that appears in my news feed or is “promoted” on my twitter feed.

2 thoughts on “Spurred to literary rage by advertising

  1. So you’ve inspired a few thoughts in me:
    1) I don’t know anyone who’s pleased about the continuing sexualisation/objectification of our society, yet it continues …
    2) Phoney weight loss schemes will continue until people don’t need them. Until there is regulation of junk food and proper healthy eating education people will need them. So forever then.
    3) Facebook is a free service; how much would you pay to use it advert-free?
    4) At least you’re getting adverts for things you don’t want. Imagine if Facebook’s targetting algorithms actually worked? Then you’d be tempted to spend money on things you actually want.

  2. Ha ha ha. Good thoughts John! Thank you. I was wondering myself what I would pay for facebook without advertising. It would depend on how many other people in my network would be willing to pay as well.

Leave a Reply

